Is there a maximum number of strokes per hole in golf?
Here, I am not talking of the number of strokes for calculating handicap. I know there are limit of strokes per hole for that purpose. But, for example, if a player hurt himself while playing the 18th hole but still want to finish the game and to do so has to hit many small stokes and, thus, hits 15 strokes on a par 3. Will 15 appear on his score card for the 18th hole?
Yes and No. Depending on the "local" rules, or "tournament" rules. As a USGA rule, there are no stroke limits. If your playing in a tournament, they may institute the rule (in most cases, a 10 from what I've seen). This often leads to speeding up play for not so skilled amateurs. Also, with your question, if he were maintaining a handicap, he would adjust the 15 to his maximum stroke limit via the Equitable Stroke Control (ESC). This is a formula set up to prevent lower handicap players from "sandbagging" (In my opinion). Although I'm not a fan the control, it is to be used for that purpose.
For more information on ESC, visit: http://www.usga.org/questions/faqs/handi... Source(s): http://www.usga.org/questions/faqs/handi...
Good question. I don't know. Me and my buddies always play that once you double par, you pick the ball up and move on.
No, in PGA play there are no stroke rules, just has a number of balls during play and if happens to lose them all then he's disqualified, but until that little ball is in the whole, score counts.
No maximum of strokes per hole.
Yes; 15 will appear on score card for 18th hole.
In pga no, there was a guy in Japan who shot a 19 on a par 3 when he hit 6 balls into the water, when me and my buddies play its 3 balls lost or 10 strokes.
|Hockey Handball Golf 2006 FIFA World Cup(TM) Argentinian Football (Soccer) Brazilian Football (Soccer) French Football (Soccer)|
Sports Categories--Copyright/IP Policy--Contact Webmaster